Teen Click It or Ticket

Vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death among teenagers. In Texas, teen drivers have the highest incidence of unbuckled fatalities. In 2015, 293 teen drivers and passengers (ages 15-20) died as a result of traffic crashes in Texas. Of those fatalities, 115 (39 percent) were not wearing their seat belts at the time of the crash.

TxDOT has launched a public awareness campaign aimed at increasing teen safety belt use. High schools across the state will receive materials to display on their campus that encourage teen drivers to buckle up and to visit TexasClickItorTicket.com.

Public service announcements remind teen drivers that safety belt use is the single most effective way to protect drivers and passengers and to reduce fatalities in motor vehicle crashes. Violators face fines and license suspension:

  • Drivers not wearing safety belts face fines of up to $250.
  • Drivers on the Graduated Driver License (GDL) Program could risk license suspension if they receive a seat belt citation.

It's important that all people in the car, in the front and back seat, remember to buckle up.

Press Materials


Audio PSAs

Video PSAs