Vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death among teenagers. In Texas, 269 teen drivers and passengers (ages 15-20) were killed in traffic crashes in 2016, and 1,861 were seriously injured. Of those killed, 114 (42 percent) were not wearing their seat belts at the time of the crash.

Buckling up is the best protection in a crash. In fact, wearing a seat belt reduces the risk of dying in a crash by 45 percent in a car and up to 60 percent in a pickup truck. TxDOT has launched a public awareness campaign aimed at increasing teen seat belt use. High schools across the state will receive materials to display on their campus that encourage teen drivers to buckle up every time they get in a car or truck and to visit

Texas law requires the driver and all passengers in a vehicle to wear a seat belt. Violators face fines and license suspension.

  • Unbuckled drivers and passengers, even those in the back seat, face fines and court costs of up to $200.
  • Drivers on the Graduated Driver License (GDL) Program could risk license suspension if they receive a seat belt citation.

It's important to always buckle up—day or night. Every rider, every ride. 

Press Materials

  • Teen Survivor Story
    (.pdf, .mov)
  • Cute Animals (:15)



Audio PSAs

Video PSAs

Media Center